Cuernavaca - Mexico


Workshop Program Registration Abstracts Venue Contact




The Organizing Committee of the 9th International Workshop on Seismic Microzoning and Risk Reduction (9thIWSMRR) is very much pleased of inviting you to participate in the workshop activities to be held in Cuernavaca, Mexico from 21 to 24 February, 2010.

This Workshop is the continuation of the efforts initiated in 1992 at the first joint workshop by Japanese and Spanish researchers on seismic microzoning in Granada, Spain. Since then, three meetings have been held in Spain and four more in Japan. The 8th Workshop was celebrated in Spain in March 2009. In 2010, the Workshop will take place in the American continent for the first time; Mexico will host international scientists working in these areas.

This Workshop is focused on the discussion of methodologies and results on Earthquakes, Earthquake Engineering, Seismic Hazard Assessment, Seismic Risk, Earthquake Disaster Mitigation and Management, and other related subjects applicable in urban areas. The attendees are invited to exchange ideas and experiences about pragmatic tools to assess, mitigate, and respond to earthquakes at urban and regional scales.

Scientists, engineers, disaster mitigation planners, decision makers as well as representatives of the private sector are warmly invited to participate and contribute to the scientific sessions and discussions, and other social events scheduled to take place in 9thIWSMRR.

Looking forward to welcoming you in Mexico on February 2010.

Respectfully on Behalf of the Organizing Committee.


About the workshop

This workshop is a joint initiative of the Instituto de Ingenieria UNAM and Sociedad Mexicana de Ingeniería Sísmica (SMIS, The Mexican Society for Earthquake Engineering).

This time the meeting will be held in Mexico in February 2010

II smis


Important deadlines

• November 15th, 2009 Submission of abstracts

• November 15th, 2009 Notification of acceptance of abstracts

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

January 31th, 2010
Short paper submission

• January 31st, 2010 Early-bird registration

Organizing Committee

Francisco J. Sánchez Sesma
Jorge Aguirre González
Takahisa Enomoto
Manuel Navarro Bernal
Miguel Rodríguez González
Javier Lermo Samaniego
Eduardo Reinoso Angulo
Roberto Quaas Wepen
Leonardo Alcántara Nolasco
José Luis Rangel Núñez